Guilty Pleasures

Everyone has their guilty pleasures and films that they secretly love. Sometimes it’s nice to have a relaxing evening on the sofa with popcorn and a super cheesy film. I’ve written a list of my favourite guilty pleasure films and they are all 100% cheese.

1. High School Musical (One and Three)

high-school-musical-reunion

For those of you who have lived under a rock your whole life, HSM is a franchise following Troy Bolton, Gabriella Montez and their group of friends through their High School life. The franchise began in 2006 and has been successful around the globe.

If anyone knows me, they know that I am a huge fan of HSM. The soundtrack is super cheesy – perfect for a Sunday afternoon – and the relationship between Troy and Gabriella is what most little girls dream about having. Saying this, I am not a fan of High School Musical 2. I just feel that it doesn’t add anything to the franchise, the plot is boring and the soundtrack is the worst out of the three. I will always love High School Musical 1 and 3, though; they never fail to pick me up.

2. The Lizzie McGuire Movie

635987501831580456-887373873_QUAD.jpg

I spent a lot of my childhood watching Lizzie McGuire on the Disney Channel. Lizzie McGuire started as a sitcom on the Disney Channel in 2001. In 2003, The Lizzie McGuire Movie was aired as a finale for the television series. The film follows Lizzie as she goes on a graduation trip to Rome with her classmates. I absolutely love this movie. If I am feeling ill, then this is my go-to movie to watch to cheer myself up. The fact that Lizzie and Gordo FINALLY get together at the end of the movie (SPOILERS) just made my childhood.

3. Wild Child

mpw-38019

Wild Child is a 2008 teen comedy starring Emma Roberts. To summarise, Wild Child is about Malibu brat Poppy Moore (Emma Roberts) being shipped off to an English boarding school for girls. Her ultimate goal is to get expelled, however, things change as the film goes on. One of the main reasons I love this film is the strong friendship between Poppy and her friends; we all want a group of friends that will stick up for us no matter what and help us through anything. Another thing that I love about this film is that school bully Harriet (Georgia King) gets exactly what she deserves. I absolutely love this feel-good cheesy film and will never get bored of it.

4. Angus Thongs and Perfect Snogging

Angus-Thongs-and-Perfect-Snogging.jpg

I remember watching this film at EVERY sleepover I went to as a child. In fact, we watched this so much that we knew the whole “big fish, little fish” dance. Apparently, 2008 was just a really good year for cheesy teen films. This film follows 14-year-old Georgia desperately try to find a boyfriend and take control of her life. I enjoy watching this film as it reminds me of being 14 and how easy it was to be young. The other thing I love about this film is Angus. Angus is Georgia’s Persian cat and he is so adorable.

5. LOL

LOL_2012_movie_poster.jpg

This is probably the least-known film on this list. LOL is a 2012 remake of the French film of the same name. It stars Miley Cyrus and Demi Moore. LOL is about a teenage girl called Lola (Miley Cyrus) and how she and her friends navigate the peer pressures of high school romance while dodging their overbearing parents. One of the main reasons why I love this movie is because the soundtrack is amazing. It features songs by Ingrid Michaelson, Keane, Jonathan Clay and The Rolling Stones. I love watching the mother-daughter relationship between Lola and Anne (Demi Moore) and how it develops over the course of the film. This film always cheers me up when I’m feeling down or just when I fancy watching a cheesy film.

Let me know your guilty pleasures in the comments, maybe we have some in common.

2 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures

Leave a Reply

