University Update

I am less than three months away from finishing my degree and that absolutely terrifies me. In this final semester, I have been pushing myself harder than I ever have before so that I know I tried my best and that’s all that matters. Last semester was incredibly stressful but I was able to learn so much and better myself in the process. I have got some exciting projects coming up as well as uni work, I’m going to be so busy.

This week I will be doing my first freelance job as a videographer. I will be filming the Lincoln Japan Festival and it sounds so exciting. Please come along if you’re around as there are some really good events on. I will be filming on the Canon C100 and editing on Adobe Premiere Pro, I will also link the finished video.

Tonight I am putting on a speed dating event in Lincoln to raise money for my trip to Peru. We are having two sessions, the first 8 pm until 9 pm and the second 9:30 pm until 10:30 pm. It costs £3 to attend and there will be a raffle and a couple of opportunities to win a prize. This is my first proper fundraiser and I’m so excited, I really hope people come along as it will be a lot of fun. You will have three minutes to find out as much as you can about each other before moving on to the next person. Check out the Facebook event page if you are interested. I will also be putting on a fundraiser for pancake day where 16667254_1876877079223335_120788913_o.jpgI will make lots of pancakes and you can pay £1 per pancake including toppings. Currently, I have just over £1000 towards my trip and I am trying everything I can to make sure that I can fully fund my trip. If you want to know more about my trip, check out my Virgin Money Giving page.

My main concern of third year is my 10,000-word dissertation. I am writing my dissertation on how the internet has impacted the television industry and its relationship with audiences. This is probably the thing that I am struggling with the most as I have been finding it quite hard to sit down and focus on it when I know there are so many other things that I need to do. I’m got about 3,000 words so far so I’m slowly getting there. I want to finish this as soon as I can so that I’m not too stressed out when our deadlines are closer, but we all know that probably won’t happen.

For our practical module, we are making a 15-minute fiction film. We are in the process of finalising the story and starting the script, storyboards and all other areas of pre-production. I will also be editing this film and will be using Adobe Premiere Pro. I have attended an online editing masterclass to use Flame and DaVinci Resolve. I’m hoping that this willIMG_4722.JPG improve the quality of our film as I will be able to colour grade and use special effects if needed. YouTube tutorials are a lifesaver, let me tell you.

Although university can be very stressful, there are fun times too. I went to see Busted in Leicester with one of my best friends and they were amazing! Who’s David single was the first CD that I ever bought and seeing it performed live was incredible. I also went out for my housemates birthday last week and that was so much fun. Last year, I was pretty much bullied by one of my housemates so being able to have fun and be comfortable in my own house is so nice and I really do enjoy spending time with them. I’ve also started going to the gym and swimming which I enjoy a lot and of course, I have Daniel to keep me sane which I am very grateful for. It’s good to take time out for yourself so you don’t get too stressed out. Make sure that you take time out to do the things that you enjoy and have fun.IMG_4736.JPG

I will be graduating in September and I am so excited for what the future holds. If you’re at university of hoping to start university, check out my top tips. How do you cope with uni stress?

4 thoughts on “University Update

Leave a Reply

