Favourite Netflix Originals

For those that don’t know, Netflix is an online streaming service where you can watch hundreds of television shows and films. In 2013, Netflix expanded into film and television production, as well as online distribution. I have to say, Netflix produce some really good content and I always enjoy watching Netflix originals. I enjoy that they are different and challenge stereotypes. This list was quite difficult to put together because there are so many originals that are brilliant but these are my favourites.

Orange is the New Black

1466451898-orange-is-the-new-black-cast-1

Everyone seems to love Orange is the New Black and if you haven’t seen it already then you’re really missing out. There are 4 seasons so far and season 2 is my favourite. I have to say that I felt the last season didn’t add much to the overall story but hopefully, season 5 (comes out on the 9th June) will be more enjoyable. For those of you that don’t know, Orange is the New Black is an American comedy-drama that is based on Piper Kerman’s memoir, about her time in a minimum-security federal prison. This is also Netflix’s most-watched original series and has won many awards.

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

unbreakable-kimmy-schmidt-poster

The main reason I love Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt is because it’s so innocent and joyful to watch. The show follows Kimmy Schmidt as she adjusts to life in New York City after her rescue from a doomsday cult in Indiana where she and three other women were held captive for 15 years. Season three will be available to watch on the 19th May and I am super excited for it.

Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp

whas.jpg

I have to admit, I only watched this for Paul Rudd and Bradley Cooper but I have watched this show three times since because I love it so much. Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp is a satirical comedy that is the prequel to the 2001 film Wet Hot American Summer. This is one of the funniest shows that I have ever watched and it still makes me laugh when I re-watch it. I actually listed this in my post about my all-time favourite TV shows. Later this year, Wet Hot American Summer: Ten Years Later will be released on Netflix and I am so excited for it.

Love

love-1280jpg-0d735a_1280w

I wasn’t expecting to like this show as much as I did but I could say the same for all of Netflix’s originals. Love is a romantic comedy that explores male and female relationships through Mickey and Gus. This is not your typical rom-com and definitely breaks the genre conventions. Season 2 is out on the 10th March and I am so excited, I hope it lives up to the first season.

BoJack Horseman

bojack-horseman

This is slightly different from the others as BoJack Horseman is an adult animated comedy-drama series and stars Will Arnett as the anthropomorphic titular character. The show started off slow but it soon picked up with season 2. I love this show because it’s so depressingly real yet it’s hilarious. Season three did not disappoint and is probably my favourite season so far. If you haven’t watch Bojack Horseman then I would 100% recommend. Season 4 has been confirmed but there isn’t a release date yet.

Black Mirror

black-mirror-s3-image-5

Series 1 and 2 of Black Mirror were aired on Channel 4, yet series 3 was made specifically for Netflix. Black Mirror is a British science fiction anthology series created by Charlie Brooker centred around dark and satirical themes that examine modern society, particularly with regard to the unanticipated consequences of new technology. I’d recommend watching this because you can choose which episodes you watch as they are standalone works. I love this show because it does make you think about technology and what could potentially happen in the future.

Riverdale

riverdale.jpg

Riverdale is classed as a Netflix original as it is a Netflix-only release in the UK, although it is actually aired on TV in America. This show is based on the characters from Archie Comics and is based around the mystery of who murdered Jason Blossom. I would never normally be interested in a show like this but I was hooked by the beautiful cinematography. I was captivated by the beautiful colours and shallow focus but also I really liked the characters, even though I didn’t want to. Episodes are released every Friday and currently, there are 6 episodes.

What are your favourite Netflix originals? Have you watched any of these? Let me know in the comments.

13 thoughts on “Favourite Netflix Originals

  1. Loved Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp and Bojack Horseman. Just started watching White Rabbit Project and it’s a great show as well if you liked their work on Mythbusters.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read Orange is the real Black for a book club read and really enjoyed it. Haven’t caught much on Netflix due to writing deadlines, but you have peaked my interest in a couple of these shows. I may just have to check them out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

