Life Update

I completely finish university in less than two months which I am so excited for but it’s very stressful. I am busy all the time and have almost no time to relax but it will be worth it in the end. I have started applying for jobs and internships as I don’t want to leave it too late and it’s actually kind of exciting to think about getting a job.IMG_4862.JPG

Recently, I received an exciting email asking if I wanted to be part of a TV show called Tell Vanessa. Based in Putney, Tell Vanessa is a show where current affairs meets reality talk, exploring interesting topics and debates. Of course I wanted to join the team so, on Wednesday 15th March, I travelled to London to meet with Vanessa herself to discuss upcoming projects and how I can get involved. I am now a video editor intern and I’m working on a couple of videos to be used as advertisements and in meetings. I am so excited to be able to go back to the set and get to know the team as they film the final episodes of the show on the 1st April. It will be tough working this alongside finishing my degree but it’s so exciting and could lead to some brilliant opportunities.

On the same day, I went to the BBC Broadcasting House at W1A to go to a talk about their BBC Get In Production Training Schemes. I wasn’t sure about going to this as I was unsure about whether to apply or not because I didn’t think I’d be good enough. However, I am so so glad I went because it really motivated me and it is such an incredible opportunity. Lucy Hickling, a current trainee ran the talk and she inspired me so much and it’s safe to say I know where I want to be in September. I spent Friday night working on my application and it took me over three hours to complete it because I wanted it to be a true representation of me as well as showing them what I am capable of. During this talk, we heard from current trainee’s which was really interesting and they really emphasised that you shouldn’t count yourself out and not apply because you don’t think you’re good enough. We also had to get into groups of 5-7 people and come up with an idea to pitIMG_4873.JPGch to everyone in the room. We came up with a 6-part documentary mini-series called Third-Culture Kids and it follows a different person each episode as we take them back to where they are originally from to discover the difference in cultures and how culture can change your identity or how your choose to identify. The show would be on BBC Three and aimed at 16 to 35 year-olds. I decided to get out of my comfort zone and pitch this idea in front of 100+ people and oh boy was I nervous. It was actually a really fun experience and although I forgot half of what I was supposed to say, I really enjoyed it. The thing that I noticed is that every single person was so excited that they were working for the BBC, even if they had been there for years and honestly that just made me want to get onto this scheme even more.

As for University, I am so close to finishing one of my modules which will be nice to get it out of the way. Although I have enjoyed it, it will be nice to focus on our short film and my dissertation. I’m about half-way through my dissertation and currently losing the will to live but it’s getting there and I’m slowly gaining confidence and feeling better about it. Our short film is coming along really well, we’ve sorted out locations, actors and we are looking to shoot from the 27th March until the 7th April. Our film is called Ask Her and follows William as he tackles his loneliness in a disturbing way. Roll on graduation.

date-night.jpg

What’s been going on in your life lately?

 

2 thoughts on “Life Update

Leave a Reply

